VIETNAM: THE REAL WAR Photographs from the Associated Press at the Haggin Museum | Visit Stockton
recurring event

VIETNAM: THE REAL WAR Photographs from the Associated Press at the Haggin Museum

Admission: $8 - $5

Location: The Haggin Museum

1201 N Pershing Ave
Stockton, CA 95203

Email: info@hagginmuseum.org
Phone: (209) 940-6300

Mapped location of VIETNAM: THE REAL WAR Photographs from the Associated Press at the Haggin Museum

VIETNAM: THE REAL WAR Photographs from the Associated Press at the Haggin Museum

August 5 – October 31, 2021

The Vietnam War was a long, costly and divisive conflict that pitted the communist government of North Vietnam against South Vietnam and its principal ally, the United States. The conflict was intensified by the ongoing Cold War between the United States and the Soviet Union. More than 3 million people (including over 58,000 Americans) were killed in the Vietnam War, and more than half of the dead were Vietnamese civilians.

To cover the War, The Associated Press gathered an extraordinary group of superb photojournalists in its Saigon bureau, creating one of the greatest photographic legacies of the 20th century. From Malcolm Browne’s photograph of the burning monk and Nick Ut’s picture of a 9-year-old running from a napalm attack to Eddie Adams’ photograph of the execution of a Viet Cong prisoner, Vietnam: The Real War contains images that both recorded and changed history.

Museum Admission:

  • Adults (ages 18-64): $8
  • Seniors (ages 65+): $7
  • Youth (ages 10-17) and Students (with valid school ID): $5
  • Museum Members, Children under age 10 accompanied by an adult: Free

Museum Hours:

  • Saturdays & Sundays: 12:00 to 5:00 p.m.
  • Wednesdays through Fridays: 1:30 to 5:00 p.m. (last admission 4:45 p.m.)

    *Face masks required


The Stockton Savings Pass is a FREE mobile coupon book for residents and visitors. A multitude of local businesses, like this one, offer one-time and/or repeating deals (daily, weekly or monthly). Redemption of the coupons is easy, with just one click on your smart phone. To sign up for the pass and see a full list of participating businesses, as well as a breakdown of the deals they are offering, go to StocktonSavingsPass.com.


Upcoming Dates:

  • Thursday, August 5
  • Friday, August 6
  • Saturday, August 7
  • Sunday, August 8
  • Wednesday, August 11
  • Thursday, August 12
  • Friday, August 13
  • Saturday, August 14
  • Sunday, August 15
  • Wednesday, August 18
  • Thursday, August 19
  • Friday, August 20
  • Saturday, August 21
  • Sunday, August 22
  • Wednesday, August 25
  • Thursday, August 26
  • Friday, August 27
  • Saturday, August 28
  • Sunday, August 29
  • Wednesday, September 1
  • Thursday, September 2
  • Friday, September 3
  • Saturday, September 4
  • Sunday, September 5
  • Wednesday, September 8
  • Thursday, September 9
  • Friday, September 10
  • Saturday, September 11
  • Sunday, September 12
  • Wednesday, September 15
  • Thursday, September 16
  • Friday, September 17
  • Saturday, September 18
  • Sunday, September 19
  • Wednesday, September 22
  • Thursday, September 23
  • Friday, September 24
  • Saturday, September 25
  • Sunday, September 26
  • Wednesday, September 29
  • Thursday, September 30
  • Friday, October 1
  • Saturday, October 2
  • Sunday, October 3
  • Wednesday, October 6
  • Thursday, October 7
  • Friday, October 8
  • Saturday, October 9
  • Sunday, October 10
  • Wednesday, October 13
  • Thursday, October 14
  • Friday, October 15
  • Saturday, October 16
  • Sunday, October 17
  • Wednesday, October 20
  • Thursday, October 21
  • Friday, October 22
  • Saturday, October 23
  • Sunday, October 24
  • Wednesday, October 27
  • Thursday, October 28
  • Friday, October 29
  • Saturday, October 30
  • Sunday, October 31

Related Partners